Ron Tonkin Acura

Ron Tonkin Acura

Call Us Today! ​(844) 457-2586
Ron Tonkin Acura Logo
Ron Tonkin Acura Map Location
Call Us Today! ​(844) 457-2586
Close

Testimonials

Most Stress Free Experience

Portland, OR
September 2, 2017

I recently purchased a 2017 Acura MDX from Samuel Kim at Ron Tonkin Acura of Portland. This was by far the most stress free and pleasurable automobile purchase experience I have had. Samuel did an excellent job of listening to my interests and concerns. He understood that I was in a hurry and was respectful of my time. He is a seasoned sales person and his experience was evident. I truly walked away with the sense that, while Samuel works for Ron Tonkin Acura, he also works for his customers.

Customer for 10 Years

Portland, OR
August 8, 2017

I've been a customer for nearly 10 years and on to my 3rd Acura from Ron Tonkin. Their staff and service is impeccable. I can't imagine buying from somewhere else.

100% Professional

Portland, OR
July 1, 2017

Ray was professional and helpful, really appreciated his knowledge even though it wasn't an Acura vehicle.

Third Vehicle Purchased Here

Rockcreek, OR
June 10, 2017

Samuel did an awesome job helping us get our new MDX. He made the experience smooth and easy. This is our third vehicle through this dealership. They always take good care of us.

Friendly, Professional and Smooth Experience

Portland, OR
June 2, 2017

I recently traded in my TL for a TLX and I could not have asked for a more friendly, professional, and smooth experience. Samuel from sales was great and made the process as easy and transparent as possible. All parties involved from sales to finance to GM did their part to make me feel good about my decision to get my 2nd Acura from them. I look forward to when I need to get my 3rd from them. Thanks again Samuel and team

Fast and Easy Process

Beaverton, OR
May 9, 2017

My husband I were in need of a new vehicle after looking at different vehicles and going to so many other lots we finally came accords Ron Tonkin Acura and right away we were greeted by Samuel. He listen too what we needed and wanted he was awesome made the whole process fast and easy... Thank you Samuel

Awesome Service

Portland
April 10, 2017

Awesome service. Samuel was our salesperson and the purchase experience was the best ever. Straight forward prices. Drove off in a brand new MDX within hours. I may just go back and buy another next month!!!

Our First and Last Stop

Hillsboro, OR
April 3, 2017

My husband and I were -unexpectedly- in the market for a new car. We only have one day in the week that we can spend time car shopping. They were our first and last stop today. Becki was great to work with (Tommy was working with other customers, but took the time to greet us and introduce us to Becki.) We were obviously not their "high end" customer as we were looking in the 20k range, not at any luxury vehicles, but they still treated us as such. This was night and day compared to my last experience buying a car (from one of their competitors that "believes in", but doesn't always demonstrate, nice.)

Unforced and Smooth Buying Experience

Portland, OR
February 10, 2017

My wife and I were looking to purchase our next family car and used the USAA car buying service to find what we were looking for. We then found the car we wanted at Ron Tonkin Acura and were helped by Shawn Freeman. He made the shopping experience feel very unforced and comfortable. Once we decided we wanted the car, the sales process and paperwork went smoothly and they gave us a great deal. It was an awesome experience and highly recommend them for anyone looking to buy their next car

Pleasantly Surprised

Eugene, OR
February 6, 2017

My husband and I live in Eugene and we were looking for an Acura MDX, not many options here. Reluctantly, we drove to Portland and we were pleasantly surprised. Tonkin Acura was more than fair, easy to work with, and had hands down better selection than anyone in Eugene. All together an awesome, hard working team. No wonder it's the oldest Acura dealership in the US.

Fair Price, Low Pressure

Portland, OR
February 2, 2017

James LaFleur was wonderful and there was never any pressure to buy a car. I walked in knowing exactly the car I wanted and was prepared to negotiate a price for my trade-in. James offered me a fair price, and I wish I had come here first to purchase a vehicle

Low Pressure, Highly Recommended

Portland, OR
January 16, 2017

We just purchased a 2016 Acura RDX Advance package from the Ron Tonkin dealership on Canyon Road with the help of the sales consultant Ray Armstrong. He was excellent, spending time with us without pressure, but explaining all the features of the various models, prices, and of course test drives. My wife and I would highly recommend this dealership.

No Nonsense, Fast Service

Portland, OR
December 28, 2016

Fantastic, no nonsense, fast service from Rich and the team What a great experience

Impressive Level of Customer Service

Milwaukie,OR
August 11, 2016

I have never been more impressed with the level of customer service that I received and I would recommend him to anyone I know. From the beginning I felt that I was dealing with someone I could trust and the whole team was great.

Genuine and Honest

Portland, OR
December 9, 2016

Ray Armstrong came to help us and without a doubt was genuine and honest. I enjoyed plenty of mocha's while speaking with my wife and Ray.We settled on a great used MDX and with Ray, we did not have to argue over prices. We got right to the point and were in and out with our new ride in no time.

Above and Beyond

Beaverton, OR
November 22, 2016

We purchased our Acura TSX here about 10 years ago. We continue to use them for all of our servicing needs. The staff and customer service at this place is unreal. They always go above and beyond. I've never had a problem, and I'm confident that the day that I do, they will take care of it

Have purchased four vehicles here

Vancouver, WA
January 28, 2016

Bought a new CPO 2015 MDX AWD Rich was helpful and easy going. Arian was very helpful and attentive. Joe in financing was great to work with. Overall was a good experience. This was the 4 the vehicle we have bought from the Ron Tonkin auto group.

GREAT Customer Service

Beaverton, OR
November 7, 2016

Just upgraded my Acura and had an AMAZING experience. Jim Brown, the store GM, is one of THE nicest General Managers I've met. The real deal! Joe in finance was very nice as well and made me feel comfortable and at ease. And their service department? A++++!! So if you're looking for an Acura with GREAT customer service? Ron Tonkin Beaverton (on Canyon Road) is THE PLACE!:)

"At all times we were treated with respect and first class..."

March 8, 2011

At all times we were treated with respect and first class attention. Every employee without exception acknowledged us upon our arrival, determined what we needed, and either met that need or directed us to the necessary people. We were offered everything from water to a test drive. We were asked if we had any questions and if we were completely satisfied. We received several follow up phone calls to assure everything in our transaction was being managed properly and to our satisfaction. We came away with a beautiful car and good feelings about our customer relationship

"I have been so impressed with the service at Ron Tonkin..."

August 31, 2011

I have been so impressed with the service at Ron Tonkin Acura since my first Acura in 2004 that it wasn’t even a question which dealership I would buy from after my 2004 was just totaled this past month. The staff is friendlier than Nordstrom, as hard as that is to accomplish, but they go above and beyond every time, no matter how big or how small my needs are. The car was immaculate when I bought it - freshly washed - even after our test drive! They were able to get me financed in no time so that I could be on the road and have the peace of mind that only the 5-star rating an Acura can offer. After walking away with only a scrape and a bruise after a totaled vehicle, there was no question what to buy next. Thank you, Ron Tonkin Acura, for making my decision such a quick and easy one!

"James along with Wes (Finance) was very helpful and..."

June 10, 2011

James along with Wes (Finance) was very helpful and straight forward with my wife and I. They were very courteous and didn't think down on any questions we had. Overall, James and Wes were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend my friends to see James anytime when they are in the market for a new/used car.

"We came back to Ron Tonkin to service our 2006 MDX and..."

October 12, 2011

We came back to Ron Tonkin to service our 2006 MDX and left the same afternoon with a new 2011 MDX. Samuel Kim was so helpful and accommodating with our need to complete the deal and get to another appointment that afternoon. Sam made everything easy for us. We would recommend Ron Tonkin and especially Sam to anyone looking for a great place to shop for a new car!

"Visited Ron Tonkin Acura to have a 2002 Acura MDX go..."

June 17, 2011

Visited Ron Tonkin Acura to have a 2002 Acura MDX go through their so called (MPI World Class Inspection) paid $115. I got a list of things that I need to either fix or pay attention to and one of them was the timing belt ( which I paid them another $795 to fix). That wasn’t the problem, the problem was that I drove the SUV for less then 2 weeks and the transmission went out. I don’t understand what the world class test is supposed to do if it doesn’t find a major problem with a car especially the transmission. I wouldn’t have purchased this SUV if I was told by them that they found a problem with the transmission. I went back to Ron Tonkin Acura after the transmission went out and wouldn’t do anything to fix the situation. So I will never recommend their (world class inspection) to anyone.

"Shawn Freeman and the entire Ron Tonkin Acura dealership..."

October 23, 2011

Shawn Freeman and the entire Ron Tonkin Acura dealership made our recent car purchase a very positive experience. Not only was the car we desired made available to us; Shawn even drove from Portland to Bend, Oregon just to deliver our car. Now that is exceptional service! Thank you so much!

"Everyone was very friendly. Your selection of vehicles..."

October 26, 2011

Everyone was very friendly. Your selection of vehicles was great. I got good value for my trade-in. All in all it was a "painless" exchange. I love my TSX Wagon. There are so many features, I know it will take me some time to use them all; but the salesperson is very patient with all my questions.

"Rachel was fantastic to work with and really helped us to..."

December 8, 2011

Rachel was fantastic to work with and really helped us to decide on the best car for us. Definitely a wonderful experience, and quite painless!

"The process started when I test drove the MDX with Rich,..."

December 19, 2011

The process started when I test drove the MDX with Rich, then a few days later we came back and borrowed the vehicle with James. After a couple hours, my husband returned the vehicle to James and they finished the transaction so my husband could bring the car back home that night to surprise me! Both employees were courteous and informative and a pleasure to work with. Thank you! Lori from Portland

"After having a very positive experience purchasing an..."

December 28, 2012

After having a very positive experience purchasing an Acura from Ron Tonkin in 2009 I contacted them again looking for an RDX and MDX. I was contacted by James Lafleur, who worked with us in 2009. From the beginning we were treated like old friends. We immediately felt like they were hearing what we were looking for and were working hard to meet our car needs. This positive experience continued right through the paperwork (really) and has continued beyond as they have contacted us to be sure we were satisfied with everything.

"If & when we are in the market again for another..."

Eugene, OR
May 3, 2012

If & when we are in the market again for another vehicle - used or new... we will be heading to Tonkin Acura to work with Rich! He was the easiest, most helpful salesman we have ever talked with. Never pushy, always informative and helpful. It was quick and simple working with him and will be recommending everyone we know who is the market for a new or used vehicle. We live in Eugene and would not hesistate to go to Portland to work with Rich again. My wife and I are extremely happy with the help and service we received. Thank you Rich for all your help!

"The salesman was great. No real pressure. Dealership is..."

February 18, 2012

The salesman was great. No real pressure. Dealership is in great shape. Good place to hang out and wait while car was prepped for sale.

"While buying/leasing a car may be something that most..."

March 12, 2012

While buying/leasing a car may be something that most people dread, my experience at Ron Tonkin Acura is just the opposite. When I went in last week to purchase new tires for my leased MDX, I was told about a special lease program that allowed me to switch from my black 2010 MDX to a brand new 2012 one. The entire sales team were very helpful explaining the ins and outs of the transaction. I did get new tires for my MDX only they were on an entirely new one. My wife and I love the new car and how we were treated. Thanks, Steven Brenner

"Ron Tonkin Acura is a classy, customer-oriented..."

April 9, 2012

Ron Tonkin Acura is a classy, customer-oriented dealership. They know they have high quality cars to offer, so they do not engage in aggressive selling, it's much more about figuring out what you need and want. The Tonkin team is highly efficient, always sending me the message that they know my time is limited and important (I travel almost every week). They are enthusiastic about Acura vehicles and I like that. It never seems like a commodity to them, and I know they appreciate having to compete for business. The easiest way to sum up my experience after 25 years of buying, leasing and servicing Acura's from Ron Tonkin Acura is that I always look forward to stopping by the dealership, and I have not had a single bad experience in those 25 years.

"Ben was very patient with me and very helpful! He took..."

April 10, 2012

Ben was very patient with me and very helpful! He took time to explain to me about technology and told me that he would be happy to help out if I had questions at a later date.

"I had a great experience! Peoples at Ron Tonkin Acura..."

April 23, 2012

I had a great experience! Peoples at Ron Tonkin Acura are friendly, nice, and happy. James Lafleur was wonderful, fast, helpful, and professional. I'll definitely come back and/or recommend this great place to friends and family.

"My wife and I first met Samuel Kim when I was looking for..."

April 30, 2012

My wife and I first met Samuel Kim when I was looking for a used Acura. At the time, my wife had a used Acura RDX (our first Acura). Although I didn't buy my car from Tonkin Acura, after meeting Samuel we realized what a great guy he is. He made us feel so comfortable and was very honest with us about buying a used car on the open market. He asked me to bring my car back to Tonkin Acura for service. I have brought my used TSX back to Tonkin Acura for service ever since. In 2011, my wife's RDX was totaled. We considered other used vehicles to replace the car. On a service visit to Tonkin Acura for my TSX, we asked for Samuel and test drove a 2011 RDX. Samuel was so enthusiastic and the new RDX was so nice that we realized that this new car was the one for us. Samuel gave us such great service and attention. He got us an outstanding interest rate to finance the new vehicle and offered a lot of help to ensure that we were comfortable with our new car. I still see Samuel when I bring the vehicles in for service an he is extremely respectful and friendly. He is a great guy and we certainly appreciate the excellent service and attention he has given us. My wife and I both feel like we really own luxury cars when we visit Tonkin Acura. The employees and the service can't be beat.

"We would like to express our continued appreciation for..."

September 6, 2012

We would like to express our continued appreciation for the customer service and professionalism of the Ron Tonkin auto group. This especially goes out currently to Ron Tonkin Acura where we just purchased our 2nd TL in less than two years and 3rd TL in less than eight years. We worked with Shawn Freeman for the second time (we asked for him due to our first great experience working with him). This was a very easy and comfortable transaction and was completed very quickly, probably less than two hours and part of that was because we took the time to drive three different vehicles. We never felt pressure and all our questions were answered completely. Anyway, if you are looking to purchase an Acura, please go to Ron Tonkin Acura in Beaverton and if it's not an Acura you are looking for, their other (Ron Tonkin) stores are equally great. We have also purchase three Toyotas from Ron Tonkin Toyota with great results. This is probably the 8th or 9th vehicle purchase from this family's stores over 26 years (starting with a 1986 Blazer I purchased due to an unexpected introduction to Brad Tonkin) and it is THE place we will purchase all our vehicles in the future. We consider ourselves lifetime customers. We would also like to thank Kem for handling the financing so fast and letting us get on our way. He was also very professional and explained everything very clearly to us. Thanks to the entire team and to Jim Brown for his fine leadership of a great operation. Additionally, we highly recommend their service department. Dave & Patty

"We enjoyed working with James. He was not high pressure..."

June 13, 2012

We enjoyed working with James. He was not high pressure and we appreciated that. He was extremely knowledgeable about the MDX and answered every question we had without having to ask someone else first. I have previously had two Acura Legends and they were great vehicles, so when I finally decided to part

"Tommy was really good at reaching out to us via e-mail..."

June 29, 2012

Tommy was really good at reaching out to us via e-mail and text and finding us a car within our budget. Shawn was the main salesperson we interacted with during test drives and our final purchase. He was patient and informative. At the end, we felt great about our purchase and Shawn's professionalism and trustworthy business was a major part of our positive experience.

"Bought our first Acura in 8/12, a used certified pre..."

October 4, 2012

Bought our first Acura in 8/12, a used certified pre owned Acura MDX. Love the car, and the dealership......1 week latter we found that the fog lights didn't work, no lights on the steering wheel or the dash, clunking noise in the front, air leak in the new tires. Acura fixed all the problems at no cost. Picked up the car after a week and drove it 1/2 a block and the navigation quit working. I took it back to the dealer for another repair. We have had the car for a week and know the transmission lights in on. The car is now in the shop for its 3rd repair, all items were checked OK on the certified pre owned check sheet. Acura insists they will just keep fixing the problems has they arise. I would never buy a CPO vehicle from them; it’s just a sheet that has no credibility.

"I test drove a 2014 MDX demo and loved it. The..."

June 3, 2014

I test drove a 2014 MDX demo and loved it. The technology package worked wile driving both with voice command and manual user interface. They had an MDX with the latest Advance package (Which is the best most expensive MDX they offer) coming in with the colors I wanted so i purchased it. Tommy did a great job of training while sitting at the dealer. The problem came when I drove it off the lot. The advance package comes with a safety feature that disables most of the GPS and phone controls when the car is n motion and forces you to use voice commands. Problem is the Voice commands do not work in this system. When I use Siri on my iPhone it grabs the cars speakers and microphone and it understands me and works. Ultimately without Siri this "safety feature" forces you to take out your phone and use it directly. The GPS will not take an address either while in motion and again voice command is useless, so you have to pull over in hazardous areas to use it. To make matters worse it cannot find any Portland address that did not exist 6 years ago. I carry a Garmin... The regular MDX has a superior "HandsFreeLink" in it. Dealing with Honda's Handsfree Link support staff is a trip to visit Mr and Mrs "How can I get you off the phone". I traded in a 2006 MDX that I bought new at this dealership. The dealership and staff get 5 stars. However Tommy did not know about the "safety feature" of the advance. I have been asking for a replacement since I made the mistake of driving it off the lot without resolution. Tommy is a nice and thorough Salesman worthy of top honors but how does someone like this deal with "junk" they do no know about?

Customer Testimonial

September 1, 2016

Liz, Thank so much for the great personal service you gave to me and my family. I can't think of a bigger day in our son's life than to pick out his first car. It was exciting for all of us, and you made it enjoyable and stress-free! You not only provided great insight as a car professional, but you added that special "mother's" touch that was very helpful. Our son has gone on just a few short excursions this weekend, all of which were to places to eat. He loves the car and more importantly, loves showing it to his family and friends. Special thanks to our salesman, Jim, for making our car buying experience awesome! No doubt you and your Toyota team were exceptional from start to finish.

Customer Testimonial

September 1, 2016

Liz, Thank so much for the great personal service you gave to me and my family. I can't think of a bigger day in our son's life than to pick out his first car. It was exciting for all of us, and you made it enjoyable and stress-free! You not only provided great insight as a car professional, but you added that special "mother's" touch that was very helpful. Our son has gone on just a few short excursions this weekend, all of which were to places to eat. He loves the car and more importantly, loves showing it to his family and friends. Special thanks to our salesman, Jim, for making our car buying experience awesome! No doubt you and your Toyota team were exceptional from start to finish.

Customer Testimonial

September 1, 2016

Liz, Thank so much for the great personal service you gave to me and my family. I can't think of a bigger day in our son's life than to pick out his first car. It was exciting for all of us, and you made it enjoyable and stress-free! You not only provided great insight as a car professional, but you added that special "mother's" touch that was very helpful. Our son has gone on just a few short excursions this weekend, all of which were to places to eat. He loves the car and more importantly, loves showing it to his family and friends. Special thanks to our salesman, Jim, for making our car buying experience awesome! No doubt you and your Toyota team were exceptional from start to finish.